Social Services

“Our commitment is strengthening families and connecting our community to meet the needs of our most vulnerable citizens”.

General Information

The King William County Department of Social Services is committed to helping local citizens improve their lives and confidently meet the challenges of the future by promoting self-reliance through community-based services. Our goal is to:

Create and maintain an environment that fosters self-reliance,
Create and maintain a safe living environment for all citizens of the County,
Be responsible stewards of the taxpayers funds.

The Department provides assistance through a number of programs including Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare (VIEW), Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), Family Access to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS),Supplemental Nutrition Assistance program (SNAP), Child Day Care Services, Medicaid and Auxiliary Grants, Emergency Assistance and General Relief.

Social Services also assists with Foster Care, Adoption Services, Child Protective Services, Adult Services and Adult Protective Services.

Programs are available to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, political beliefs or disability.

Further information regarding programs and services can be found on the websites for the Virginia Department of Social Services and the Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services (Medicaid).

KWDSS Board Meeting Schedule for 2017

Beginning August 2016, the Board shall hold bimonthly meetings in even numbered months on the Second (2nd) Monday at 6:00 except in October when the regular meeting shall be held on the third (3rd) Monday due to the holiday schedule.
The meetings are held in the L.T. McAllister Building at the Department of Social Services, 172 Courthouse Lane, King William, VA 23086 (804) 769-4905.

 

Back to top

Contact Information

King William County Social Services Department
P.O. Box 187
King William, VA 23086

Phone: (804) 769-4905
Fax: (804) 769-4979

F.O.I.A Contact: Darlene Chamberlain
Phone: 804-769-4907
Fax:804-769-4979
Email: dchamberlain@kingwilliamcounty.us

The Social Services Department is located in the L.T. McAllister Human Services Building at 172 Courthouse Lane.

Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Back to top

Staff

Anne M. Mitchell
Director
(804) 769-4913
amitchell@kingwilliamcounty.us

Darlene Chamberlain
Administrative Services Manager
(804) 769-4907
dchamberlain@kingwilliamcounty.us

Michelle Hunt
Benefit Programs Specialist II
(804) 769-4912
mhunt@kingwilliamcounty.us

Ann Porter
Comprehensive Services Act Coordinator
(804) 769-4922
aporter@kingwilliamcounty.us

Amanda Traylor
Family Services Supervisor
(804) 769-4909
atraylor@kingwilliamcounty.us

Angie Resnick
Benefit Program Specialist III
(804) 769-4921
aresnick@kingwilliamcounty.us

Gwendolyn Simms
Benefits Program Specialists I
(804) 769-4986
gsimms@kingwilliamcounty.us

Vacant
Family Services Specialist III
(804) 769-4924

Joan Nelson
Benefit Programs Supervisor
(804) 769-4906
jnelson@kingwilliamcounty.us

Stacey Smith
Benefit Programs Specialist IV
(804) 769-4903
ssmith@kingwilliamcounty.us

Romeka Taylor
Benefits Program Specialist II
(804) 769-4910
rtaylor@kingwilliamcounty.us

Yolanda Braxton
Family Services Specialist II
(804) 769-4996
ybraxton@kingwilliamcounty.us

Tierra Harvey
Family Services Specialist  II
(804) 769-4987
tharvey@kingwilliamcounty.us

Britt Harmon
Benefit Program Specialist I
(804) 769-4904
bharmon@kingwilliamcounty.us

Kimberly Davis
Human Services Assistant I
(804) 769-4914
kdavis@kingwilliamcounty.us

Samantha Williams
Administrative Program Asssitant I
(804) 769-4905
swilliams@kingwilliamcounty.us

  • Contact Staff

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.